Keegan v O’Shea – Draw made as Mayo SFC reaches quarter-final stage

Updated Sep 11th 2018, 12:05 AM

EIGHT TEAMS REMAIN in the hunt for the Mayo SFC after the conclusion of the group stages at the weekend.

James Horan (Westport), Barry Moran (Castlebar Mitchels), Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber) and Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy)

Reigning champions Castlebar Mitchels enjoyed a 3-12 to 0-12 win over Andy Moran’s Ballaghaderreen yesterday to seal their place on top of Group 1, but both sides qualified for the last eight.

In Group 2, Garrymore and Moy Davitts advanced after beating Knockmore and Charlestown respectively. 

The James Horan managed Westport, who have Lee Keegan in their ranks, emerged victorious from their top-of-the-table Group 3 clash with Claremorris, winning by 1-13 to 2-8. Both sides are through to the quarter-finals.

And Group 4 saw Cillian O’Connor’s Ballintubber advance alongside a Breaffy outfit featuring Aidan and Conor O’Shea, with Seamus named on the bench. Ballintubber hammered Kiltane by 2-18 to 0-5 while Breaffy crushed Davitts by 0-17 to 0-5.

The quarter-final draw took place last night, throwing up the following pairings for this weekend:

  • Westport v Breaffy, Saturday 6pm
  • Ballintubber v Moy Davitts, Saturday 7.30pm
  • Castlebar Mitchels v Claremorris, Sunday 1pm
  • Garrymore v Ballaghaderreen, Sunday 2.30pm

The Quarter Finals & Relegation Playoffs for the Mayo GAA @ConnachtGold SFC & Egan Jewellers IFC have been confirmed. All 4 SFC QF games will be shown live by @MayoGAATV on Sept 22 & 23rd. #mayogaa #gaa

Click Here: Brisbane Broncos Team Jersey— Mayo GAA (@MayoGAA) September 11, 2018

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *