Late Kildare rally secures draw against Kerry as Hyland hits injury-time leveller

Kerry 1-10
Kildare 0-13

ENTHUSIASM FOR JANUARY football was on evidence today in Newbridge with a bumper crowd that sparked a 15-minute delay to the throw-in.

Jimmy Hyland scores the free that levels the game for Kildare.

Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

The home fans were rewarded for their eagerness to witness live action as their Kildare team performed with commendable second-half spirit at St Conleth’s Park, firing the last four points of the game to drag Kerry into a draw.

Jimmy Hyland knocked over the injury-time free that restored parity for Glenn Ryan’s men on an overcast afternoon with their defence resolute in the final passages of play as Kerry chased a winner in this Division 1 encounter. Kildare deserved to get something tangible from this contest. Tony Brosnan cleverly engineered space in the 58th minute for a Kerry point but it proved the last time they troubled the scoreboard operator.

Paddy Woodgate hit a brace, one from play and one from a free, and Hyland supplied a similar scoring burst as the Lilywhites hauled Kerry back towards them. On a day when Glenn Ryan embarked on his Kildare management spell in the league arena and Jack O’Connor started his third Kerry era in a familiar setting after his past two seasons managerial work, there was plenty passion on display in a pulsating finale.

Kildare’s bench made a difference in the second half, Kevin Feely in towering form at midfield and Paddy McDermott lively around the middle third. Kerry struggled to gain traction in attack as the game progressed, only posting four points on the board after the 20th minute.

Killian Spillane scores Kerry’s first-half goal.

Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Kerry’s first score of the day was a telling one. It was a messy concession for Kildare, Killian Spillane scrambling home for a goal that was rooted in his opportunism and owed much to the danger Gavin White posed when galloping in from the left wing.

White’s hard running punched holes in the Kildare rearguard in the first half but he was forced off in the 28th minute through injury after being fouled. Kerry missed him as they only struck a single point between the 20th minute and half-time, yet were still in front 1-7 to 0-6 by the midway mark. Sean O’Shea’s frees were reliable and David Clifford knocked over a couple of stylish points.

Kildare shot the opening two points of the game but were outscored 0-5 to 0-1 between the 10th and 20th minutes. They steadied themselves thereafter with Jimmy Hyland posting four first-half points and Daniel Flynn a strong focal point up front.

David Clifford reacts to a missed chance.

Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Kerry kept their noses in front throughout the second half but didn’t put sufficient daylight between the teams, despite some flashes of scoring style with Paul Geaney, Paudie Clifford and Tony Brosnan raising second-half white flags. Kildare captain Mick O’Grady kept danger man Clifford on a tight leash and while their shooting was errant early in the second half, they corrected that facet of their game successfully to claim this draw.


Scorers for Kerry: Sean O’Shea 0-3 (0-1f), Killian Spillane 1-0, David Clifford, Paudie Clifford 0-2 each, Tom O’Sullivan, Tony Brosnan, Paul Geaney 0-1 each.

Scorers for Kildare: Jimmy Hyland 0-6 (0-3f), Paddy Woodgate 0-3 (0-1f), Paul Cribbin, Kevin Flynn 0-2 each.


1. Shane Murphy (Dr Crokes)

2. Dan O Donoghue (Spa, Killarney), 3. Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue), 4. Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle)

5. Paul Murphy (Rathmore), 6. Tadhg Morley (Templenoe), 7. Gavin White (Dr Crokes)

8. Seán O’Shea (Kenmare Shamrocks), 9. Adrian Spillane (Templenoe)

Click Here:

10. Micheál Burns (Dr Crokes), 11. Paudie Clifford (Fossa), 12. Dara Moynihan (Spa, Killarney)

13. Killian Spillane (Templenoe), 14. David Clifford (Fossa), 15. Paul Geaney (Dingle)


18. Brian Ó Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht) for White (inj) (28)

20. Jack Savage (Kerins O’Rahillys) for Burns (half-time)

17. Tony Brosnan (Dr Crokes) for Killian Spillane (48)

22. Greg Horan (Austin Stacks) for Moynihan (52)


1. Mark Donnellan (Maynooth)


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

3. Shea Ryan (Sarsfields), 2. Mick O’Grady (Celbridge – captain), 4. Ryan Houlihan (Moorefield)

7. Tony Archbold (Celbridge), 6. James Murray (Moorefield), 5. Jack Sargent (Eadestown) 

8. Kevin O’Callaghan (Celbridge), 9. Kevin Flynn (Celbridge)

10. Padraic Tuohy (Eadestown), 11. Paul Cribbin (Johnstownbridge), 12. Ben McCormack (Sarsfields)

13. Paddy Woodgate (Raheens), 14. Daniel Flynn (Johnstownbridge), 15. Jimmy Hyland (Ballyteague)


21. Kevin Feely (Athy) for O’Callaghan (half-time)

25. Neil Flynn (Maynooth) for McCormack (half-time)

18. Paddy McDermott (Naas) for Tuohy (52)

Referee: David Coldrick (Meath)

Buy The42’s new book, Behind The Lines, here:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *