Former captain and 2013 All-Star among big omissions in Dublin’s 2017 hurling squad

DUBLIN SENIOR HURLING manager Ger Cunningham has announced his winter training panel ahead of the 2017 season.

There are some big name omissions as former captain Johnny McCaffrey, ex joint-captain Peter Kelly, forward Paul Ryan, Daire Plunkett, Niall Corcoran and Glenn Whelan are deemed surplus to requirements.

It is understood that Shane Durkin has also opted out for next year.

Cunningham’s panel pulls the curtain down on the inter-county careers of many players who starred in the march to 2013 Leinster senior hurling championship glory.

Three years ago, McCaffrey lifted the Bob O’Keeffe Cup as Dublin stormed to provincial championship glory, securing a big win against Galway in the final.


Kelly was also honoured with an All-Star award in 2013 for his defensive exploits but has struggled with injury in recent times.

Peter Kelly is not part of Dublin manager Ger Cunningham’s plans for 2017.

Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Joining the panel of 38 are three members of the 2016 Bord Gáis Energy Leinster U21 winning side – Jonathan Tracey (Na Fianna), Jake Malone (Cuala) and Eoghan Conroy (St. Maurs).

Click Here:

There are also three members of the Leinster minor winning team drafted into the senior ranks, namely Donal Burke (Na Fianna), Cian O’Sullivan (St. Brigid’s) and Paddy Smyth (Clontarf).

Recently defeated county finalists Kilmacud Crokes have two players included – Ronan Walsh, who was a member of the panel previously, and promising young player Fergal Whitely.

Fergal Whitely has earned a call-up to the Dublin senior hurling squad.

Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Alex Quinn (Crumlin) and Canice Maher (Naomh Jude) were two other players who impressed in the recent club championship and have been handed the opportunity to stake a claim for inclusion when Cunningham whittles down his squad further for Allianz League and championship purposes.


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

Cunningham is clearly looking to the future with his selection and paid tribute to the players not named in his squad, thanking them for their “massive commitment.”

He said: “It is largely a young squad but, along with our aims of continuing to try and make Dublin hurling successful in the short term, one of our key aims is building a solid foundation for the future.

Ger Cunningham has thanked former panel members for their massive commitment.

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

“With this young squad, and with Dublin winning Leinster Minor and U21 titles this year, we feel we can develop and grow the potential within Dublin hurling.

“To the players not named on the provisional panel, we would like to thank them for their massive commitment to Dublin Hurling. Their service was outstanding.”

Former All-Star Danny Sutcliffe, who opted out for the 2016 campaign, is not included again as he is planning to travel abroad next year.

It is understood that the panel will remain open-ended and that will afford players showing good form and fitness at club level to put their hand up for inclusion later in the season.

The squad in full is: 

Shane Barrett – Na Fianna
Chris Bennett – Faughs
Cian Boland – St Oliver Plunketts/Eoghan Ruadh
Donal Burke – Na Fianna
Tom Connolly – St Vincent’s
Eoghan Conroy – St Maurs
Chris Crummey – Lucan Sarsfields
Conor Dooley – Ballyboden St Enda’s
Eamon Dillon – Naomh Fionnbarra
Oisin Gough – Cuala
James Madden – Ballyboden St Enda’s
Gary Maguire – Ballyboden St Enda’s
Canice Maher – St Jude’s
Jake Malone – Cuala
Sean Moran – Cuala
Rian McBride – St Vincent’s
Cian Mac Gabhann – Kilmacud Crokes
Fiontan McGibb – Setanta
Sean McGrath – Kilmacud Crokes
Niall McMorrow – Ballyboden St Enda’s
Cian O’Callaghan – Cuala
David O’Callaghan – Ballyboden St Enda’s
Darragh O’Connell – Cuala
Eoghan O’Donnell – Whitehall Colmcille
Ryan O’Dwyer – Kilmacud Crokes
Oisin O’Rorke – Kilmacud Crokes
Fionn O’Riain-Broin – St Jude’s
Cian O’Sullivan – St Brigid’s
Alex Quinn – Crumlin
Ben Quinn – Crumlin
Liam Rushe – St Pats
Mark Schutte – Cuala
Paul Schutte – Cuala
Paddy Smyth – Clontarf
David Treacy – Cuala
Jonathan Treacy – Na Fianna
Ronan Walsh – Kilmacud Crokes
Fergal Whitely – Kilmacud Crokes

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *