On this day in pro wrestling history (June 8): Clash Of The Champions II, HHH wins KOR

By Brian Hoops, WrestlingObserver.com

1941 – In Waterloo, Ia; Bronko Nagurski defeated Dick Raines

1950 – In Kansas City, Kansas; World Tag Team Champions Emil and Joe Dusek beat Ralph Garibaldi and Sonny Myers in 2 out of 3 falls, Tarzan Kowalski beat Tommy O’Toole 2 out of 3 falls, Fred Blassie beat Karl Davis via dq and Jack Pesek beat Carlos Rodriquez.

1960 – In Kansas City, Kansas; Gory Guerrero fought Doug Scott to a draw, Bob Orton defeated Emil Dusek via DQ, Central States Women’s Champion Lorraine Johnson defeated Judy Glover in three falls and Central States Heavyweight Champion Thor Hagen defeated Ernie Dusek in three falls.

1967 – In Winnipeg; AWA Tag Team Champions Larry Hennig & Harley Race beat Johnny Powers & Johnny Valentine via 3rd fall DQ; Rene Goulet beat Big K

1968 – In Minneapolis, MN; AWA Champion Verne Gagne beat Larry Hennig via dq, Bill Watts & Wilbur Snyder beat Harley Race & Dr X,
Luke Brown beat Mike DiBiase, Dutch Savage beat Big K and Rene Goulet drew Rock Rogowski (Ole Anderson).

1972 – In Kansas City, Kansas; Rufus R. Jones defeated Harley Race and The Stomper defeated Black Angus

1974 – In St. Paul, MN; Ivan Putski beat Superstar Billy Graham via dq, AWA Tag Team Champions Nick Bockwinkel & Ray Stevens beat Wahoo McDaniel & Dick Murdoch in 2 out of 3 falls, Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Larry Hennig & Paul Perschmann (Buddy Rose) and
Baron Von Raschke beat Bull Bullinski. Attendance was 9,500.

1976 – In Omaha,Nebraska; In a No dq, No Time Limit Match; Mad Dog Vachon & Baron Von Raschke beat Larry Hennig & Jos Leduc in 2 out of 3 falls. Also, Russ Francis beat Bobby Duncum and Blackjack Lanza beat Chris Taylor 10:13

1978 – In Winnipeg, AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel beat Jim Brunzell and Bob Orton Jr beat Verne Gagne via dq.

1982 – In Tokyo, Japan; PWF Champion Shohei Giant Baba beat Tiger Jeet Singh via dq, NWA Champion Ric Flair double pinfall Jumbo Tsuruta, AWA Tag Team Champions Greg Gagne & Jim Brunzell beat Atsushi Onita & Rick Steamboat and Stan Hansen & Umanosuke Ueda beat Dick Slater & Genichiro Tenryu. Attendance was 9,800.

1984 – In Green Bay, Wisconsin; AWA Tag Team Champions Baron Von Raschke & The Crusher beat Abdullah the Butcher & Jerry Blackwell and Nick Bockwinkel beat Blackjack Mulligan

1985 – In Milwaukee, Wisconsin; Michael Hayes & Buddy Roberts & Butch Reed beat Dick The Bruiser & The Crusher & Baron Von Raschke, Nick Bockwinkel beat AWA Champion Rick Martel via dq and Sgt. Slaughter beat Larry Zbyszko by dq. Attendance was 2,850.

1985 – Black Bart defeated Ronnie Garvin for the NWA National Heavyweight Title in Atlanta, Georgia.

1986 – In Chicago, Illinois; Nick Bockwinkel went to no contest with AWA Champion Stan Hansen, Scott LeDoux beat Larry Zbyszko
and Curt Hennig & Scott Hall beat Colonel DeBeers & Boris Zhukov. Attendance was 1,700.

1988 – At Clash of the Champions II in Miami, Florida; United States Champion Barry Windham defeated Brad Armstrong, United States Tag Team Champions The Fantastics defeated The Sheepherders, Jimmy & Ronnie Garvin defeated Mike Rotundo & Rick Steiner and
NWA World Tag Team Champions Arn Anderson & Tully Blanchard vs. Sting & Dusty Rhodes ended in a double disqualification.

1997 – Triple H defeated Mankind to win the King of the Ring Tournament in Providence, Rhode Island.

1999 – Ivory defeated Debra for the WWF Women’s Title in Worcester, Massachusetts.

2008 – At the TNA Slammiversary PPV; AJ Styles defeated Kurt Angle and TNA Champion Samoa Joe defeated Christian Cage, Rhino, Robert Roode and Booker T in a King of the Mountain match to retain the title.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *