Gophers Beat Iowa to Advance to National Duals Final Round

Minnesota won, 22-15, and will face Oklahoma State at 7:30 p.m. Saturday

The No. 3 Golden Gophers defeated No. 2 Iowa, 22-15, to advance to the finals of the NWCA/Cliff Keen National Dual Meet Championship. Minnesota will take on No. 1 Oklahoma State in the finals tonight at 7:30 p.m.

The Maroon and Gold exacted their revenge on the Hawkeyes of Iowa by winning six of the 10 bouts on the day. Once again the final four wrestlers won out the match, but it was Nick Dardanes at 141 lbs. and Dylan Ness at 149 lbs. that made the difference.

Click Here: cheap Cowboys jersey

Dardanes wrestled for a major decision (12-4) over Mark Ballweg after losing to the Hawkeye earlier in the season. The match was tight in the beginning but Dardanes dished out takedown after takedown to dominate the bout. Ness added to the momentum when he followed with an uproarious pinning of Michael Kelly at the 2:39 mark.

Logan Storley cemented his place as the No. 1 ranked wrestler in the 174-pound weight class with a 3-1 decision over Mike Evans. Kevin Steinhaus bested Grant Gambrall, 4-0, to bring Minnesota back on top of the team score 16-15. Scott Schiller defeated Nathan Burak by a score of 9-3 at 197 lbs. Tony Nelson capped off the dual with a 3-1 victory over Bobby Telford.

Minnesota now looks at Oklahoma State in the title match of the National Duals tonight at 7:30 p.m. The dual will be a rematch of last year’s championship in which the Gophers came out on top with the upset over the Cowboys.

No. 3 Minnesota 22, No. 2 Iowa 15
125 – Matt McDonough (Iowa) by dec. over David Thorn (Minnesota), 8-2
133 – Tony Ramos (Iowa) by fall over Chris Dardanes (Minnesota), 6:40
141 – Nick Dardanes (Minnesota) by major dec. over Mark Ballweg (Iowa), 12-4
149 – Dylan Ness (Minnesota) by fall over Mike Kelly (Iowa), 2:39
157 – Derek St. John (Iowa) by dec. over Danny Zilverberg (Minnesota), 7-4
165 – Nick Moore (Iowa) by dec. over Cody Yohn (Minnesota), 4-2
174 – Logan Storley (Minnesota) by dec. over Michael Evans (Iowa), 3-1
184 – Kevin Steinhaus (Minnesota) by dec. over Grant Gambrall (Iowa), 4-0
197 – Scott Schiller (Minnesota) by dec. over Nathan Burak (Iowa), 9-3
285 – Tony Nelson (Minnesota) by dec. over Bobby Telford (Iowa), 3-1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *